Strength: What is it exactly?

I’m not talking about strength in the physical sense, like when someone lifts 300 pounds. The kind of strength I’m questioning is internal strength.

What is internal strength? How are we able to identify it? Does an individual, or group of people, gain this type of strength through experiences? And if so, what kinds of events or situations does a person have to experience in order to have achieved internal strength? Or can this type of strength be purchased through material goods?

I don’t have the answers to these questions. But what I do know is that, I see internal strength everywhere. Internal strength can exist in anyone regardless of age, sex, race, or class. I see an immense amount of internal strength when a person admits their mistakes and when someone has survived long-term struggles like oppression, trauma, pain, and heartache. Internal strength, in my opinion, is when a person asks for help and guidance. I identify internal strength when I see a person take a leap of faith into the unknown, such as when the leap is motivated by a desire to follow their dreams or to listen to their heart.

 I witness internal strength the most is when I look into my mother’s eyes.

Internal strength is a mysterious thing. This intangible entity is typically not self-prescribed. The people who truly have this internal strength, 9 times out of 10, wouldn’t say they do. Internal strength is a characteristic that others use to describe another.

I can say my mother has this internal strength; but she wouldn’t agree.

My answers to the questions I asked in the beginning of this entry are simple:
                    Internal strength is when an individual overcomes any and all obstacles without losing sight of who they are and without losing hope for what the future holds. I am able to identify internal strength when I see it because I was somehow socialized to believe that this internal strength does not exist in everyone; it comes from a special combination of events, circumstances, and amount of growth. Internal strength, in my opinion, cannot be bought.

Resiliency is the demonstration of internal strength.

Leave a Reply

